magnet for the unusual

a record of the unusual/interesting/amusing things I've encountered on my travels

I travel because.

1-DSC06676

I travel because I’m lost.

As clichéd as it sounds, I travel because I need to find myself.

And when I travel, I still get lost.

I get scared when I can’t place where I am, no matter how many times I turn the map around.

I have a map. So I shouldn’t get lost.

Or maybe I’m lost because I don’t know how to read the map.

Maybe I’m fooling myself that I’m actually lost. Maybe I just don’t know how to recognize what’s always been right in front of me.

But until then, I’ll travel. Because I’m lost. Because I’m a fool who can’t read maps properly, who can’t read the signs. A fool who can’t find the right direction, the right path to my destination.

Mostly though, I’ll travel because I need to get lost.

And even though it gets scary at times, at least I’ll learn how to stop and get my bearings.

I’ll learn that I can always take a step back when I take one step too far in the wrong direction.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2013 by in Eurotrip 2012, Thoughts on Traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

Navigation